Contents


Objective

You need to sync segments/lists in Ometria to Facebook Custom Audiences in order to use those segments for ad campaigns.

The sync will occur every hour. However, sometimes it can take longer than an hour.  

All contacts that have been added or removed from a segment will be added or removed from the Custom Audience as well.

This document explains how to set up the Facebook connection to be able to sync contacts between Ometria and Facebook. 

Setup

In Ometria, click Account (top right in the menu bar) > Settings and then Connections tab. From there you can add a new Facebook connection. You should get to this screen:

Here, you'll need to specify a title for the connection (internal to Ometria only) and your Advert Account Id. This number should be visible in your Facebook Business Manager (the platform that's used to manage and set up ads in Facebook), in Business Settings > Ad Accounts.

Ok great, filling that form in Ometria should take you to this new screen:

This means that a request was sent on behalf of Ometria to your Facebook Ad account that you will have to accept, in order for us to be able to push information onto your account. The only action we can take in this Pending state is to check for the status of the connection -- this will tell us if the request has already been accepted. 

Once this request is accepted, click on  Check Status and the connection will now be Active. Data from Ometria can now be pushed to Facebook!

Note: The first time you add a Facebook connection you might have to accept Facebook's Terms and Conditions. If this is needed, a link will be provided in the Pending connection status screen. After clicking the Accept button on this Facebook page, you should return to Ometria and click Check Status button again.

This is how an active Facebook connection looks like:

From there, you can easily create segment syncs (will prompt to chose the Ometria segment), remove existing connected segments or delete the Facebook connection.

Segment syncs can also be created in the Saved Segments dashboard, by clicking the down arrow next to the View button, chosing Sync and then enabling them on the following modal:

Error status

If by mistake Ometria's permissions are removed from the Facebook Ad account the connection might end up in an Error state in Ometria. If that's the case, the following screen will be displayed in the connection details:

From here you can:

  • Refresh status - update the connection status to see if it changed;
  • Resend access request - Sends another request to Facebook so that Ometria can manage your Facebook Ad account. If this succeeds, the connection will move back to the Pending state;
  • Delete connection

If you accidentally delete your active Facebook connection, in order to add it again you'll need to revoke Ometria's permissions on the Facebook platform.