Overview

You might find you need to make changes to a broadcast campaign after it begins sending. You may need to edit your template, or make changes to the flow.

In Ometria, you can choose to pause or cancel a sending campaign:

  • Pause - Ometria pauses all sending. 

When you pause a broadcast campaign, you can make changes to the content (i.e. the template, subject line, copy, etc.), the tracking parameters and email settings, but you cannot change the variants waterfall (i.e. the flow) or the delivery method.

Campaigns can only be left on pause for 3 hours before they are automatically cancelled. You can choose to resume at any time during this window.

  • Cancel - The campaign is stopped completely. 

You cannot resume a broadcast campaign that has been cancelled, but you can duplicate it and send again.


Contents:

Pausing broadcast campaigns

How to pause a broadcast campaign

To pause a sending broadcast campaign, go to the SCHEDULED tab in Broadcast Campaigns and select PAUSE against your campaign:



A success message displays confirming that editing has been enabled.

You have a 3 hour window in which to make your changes. After this the campaign will be automatically cancelled.

Select OK.

Your paused campaign stays in the ‘Scheduled’ tab. Select ‘Edit’ from the drop-down menu to make changes.

Alternatively, you can duplicate or cancel your campaign from here.

When a campaign is paused, you can edit the following:

  • Everything in the Content screen
  • The Email Settings and Tracking Parameters in the Delivery screen

You cannot edit:

If you need to make changes to either of these, you will have to cancel your campaign.

Resume a paused broadcast campaign

To resume a paused campaign, simply select RESUME in the campaign builder, or from the ‘Scheduled’ tab.



Cancelling broadcast campaigns

How to cancel a broadcast campaign

To cancel a sending broadcast campaign, go to the SCHEDULED tab in Broadcast Campaigns and select CANCEL against your campaign:



A success message displays in the bottom left of the screen confirming that sending has stopped:


Your cancelled campaign is in the SENT tab labelled ‘CANCELLED’.

From here, you can choose to duplicate this campaign and re-send or VIEW STATS, which directs you to the ‘Campaign Performance’ screen for your campaign.




Note: For larger sends (i.e. over 500,000 contacts ), it can take up to 4 hours for Ometria to confirm which contacts received the campaign. We recommend that you wait 4 hours before re-sending. For further guidance, speak to your customer success manager.


Re-send a cancelled broadcast campaign 

You cannot resume a broadcast campaign that has been cancelled, but you can duplicate it and send again.

Depending on how long your campaign was sending (i.e. generating emails) some recipients may already have received the campaign before you cancelled it. 

To avoid sending the same campaign twice, you can create a segment for your re-send to deliver only to contacts who did not receive the cancelled campaign.


Note: For larger sends (i.e. over 500,000 contacts ), it can take up to 4 hours for Ometria to confirm which contacts received the campaign. We recommend that you wait 4 hours before re-sending. For further guidance, speak to your customer success manager.


Go to Broadcast Campaigns and select the SENT tab.

Locate your cancelled campaign and select ‘Duplicate’ from the drop-down menu:

Your duplicated campaign opens. 

In the ‘Recipients’ screen, create a filter on ‘Exclude contacts’:


Set up the following:

Select ‘everyone’ who match ALL of these blocks

+ADD CONDITION > Email Activity > Interacted with a broadcast campaign 

Select 'received' as the interaction type, then select your cancelled campaign:


Select APPLY FILTER

You can now continue to set up your broadcast campaign as usual, and any contacts who received the cancelled campaign will be excluded from this send.