This article explains how to edit an existing Automation Campaign.

See also:

On this page:


To edit an existing automation campaign, go to: Campaigns > Automation Campaigns

Find your campaign in the dashboard and select EDIT.

The automation campaign builder displays. 

See Create a new Automation Campaign for more information on using this screen.


Edit your campaign

When editing a campaign you can add more than one action or wait for nodes to an existing flow and then save these changes:

For example, you can add an additional wait and email node to an existing automation flow while the flow is still active with contacts.

See Automation Campaigns: Conditions and Actions for more information.

Once you add your node, save and publish your campaign. 

Contacts who qualify and meet the new node(s) will pass through.


Note: If you are making significant changes to your automation flows and want to report on the performance of your new version separately from a previous version, select the option to Create new version when publishing your edits.


Create new version

You can save and create new versions after making edits to an existing campaign.

Make your changes, select SAVE and then PUBLISH

The ‘Publish automation campaign changes' pop-up displays:

You have the option to:

  • CANCEL PUBLISH - to cancel your edits and revert to the original version of your campaign.
  • UPDATE THE CURRENT VERSION - to overwrite your changes onto the existing version. This is best for small changes (e.g. subject lines in individual emails) which you don’t need separate metrics for.
  • CREATE A NEW VERSION - to create a new campaign with all of the changes you’ve added. Contacts who are already active in the flow will complete their journey, and new contacts will begin entering the new version. 

E.g. If you’ve added new segmentation and want to report on its impact, creating a new version is the best choice.


Note: It is not possible to ‘revert’ to an old version of a campaign.


Testing and Active modes

If you create a new version and then put your campaign into Testing mode before publishing your latest version, the whole campaign will enter testing mode. This includes any previous versions which are still active.

When you set a campaign to Active mode again, you can choose to resume or restart the campaign.